Multiple devices can share the same protocol in real time. Up to 6 devices can be connected via WiFi, enabling each player to have the protocol on his/her own device. Instead of passing the device around or having one player do all the registration, each player can see the protocol and register their results on their own device. All actions performed on any device are automatically replicated to all other devices.
If in-app dice play is used, the dice movements are identical on all devices. All players see the same thing.
Protocol sharing is only available in the Premium version of the app. You can try it for free to get a feel for it, and there is also a tutorial available to give you a guided tour.
- The concept
One device is the "protocol owner" and other devices have the possibility to join in and share the same protocol. The statistics for a shared game is stored only at the protocol owner, and the protocol owner is responsible for all game controlling settings.
All players see the same thing and game events like registration of throws, change of active player and in-app dice play are replicated in real time.
- Allow others to connect
Protocol sharing starts at the device decided to be the protocol owner. On that device you tap the button to allow others to connect. That's basically it.
Important: For others to be able to connect, the connection page must be visible on the protocol owner's device. This is a security precaution since there is no authorization or acknowledgment involved in the connection process. When a protocol owner has opened the device for connections, anyone on the same WiFi network can connect.
While the connection page is active on the protocol owner other devices sees this device and can connect to it. The player having the protocol owner device will see all connections and can immediately disconnect any device that isn't supposed to be connected.
The connection page on the protocol owner can be closed once all devices are connected. Devices already connected will remain connected but new devices cannot connect.
Please note that this can be a source of confusion. If someone tries to connect but can't see the protocol owner, please verify that the connection page is visible on the protocol owner.
- Connect to a protocol owner
To connect to a protocol owner you open the connection page. Provided that the protocol owner has the connection page open as well, you will see a button for making the connection. There is a theoretical possibility that multiple devices on a network act as protocol owners (for their respective group) and the connection page can show connection buttons for up to three protocol owners. Select the one you want to connect to and simply tap the corresponding button.
Once the connection is made, your local game status and game settings are saved and the settings and game status of the protocol owner is copied to your device. From that point on the devices are connected and everything done on one device is replicated to the other (and to all other connected devices). To remind you that the device is connected, the menu icon in the top left corner is replaced with a link icon.
- Break a connection
You break an existing connection on the connection page.
- A protocol owner can break all connection with the Stop sharing protocol button or break connection with a specific device by tapping the trash can on the device row.
- If you are connected to a protocol owner you break the connection by tapping the Disconnect button.
If a device stops responding there will be a 30 second timeout and then the device will automatically be disconnected.
Please note that the app does not communicate if a screen saver is active on the device so if the screen saver is activated the device will be disconnected after 30 seconds. If your device is disconnected unintentionally you can simply connect again and you will be back where you left.
Please also note that when in-app dice play is active there is an intense communication going on between devices in order for all devices to show exactly the same dice movements. All devices must acknowledge movements and if one device stops communication (e.g. by a screen saver starting), all other devices might "hang" for 30 seconds. Once the device has timed out it will be disconnected and the dice movements will continue.