- General info
Games can be saved as temporary storage if a different set of players want to play a game. The current game can be saved, a new game for the new players can be played, and later the first game can be re-loaded for continued play.
Games can also be saved in order to export them to another device (see Export/Import section below).
When saving or loading a game, all game data (i.e. players, made throws and their results) is saved for all game types. Game type and number of players is saved but game settings, statistics and history is not saved.
The current game is always automatically saved separate from the manually saved games. Saved/loaded game files are not automatically updated when you register throws. If you e.g. load a game named "My game", that game will become the current game and is automatically saved and restored if the app is restarted. The file for the loaded "My game" will not be updated; if you later load "My game" again, it will restore the same state as when it was loaded the first time.
When a loaded game is finished and you start a new game (or load another saved game), you will get the option to delete the saved game file. If you load one game, register throws and then load another game, you will get the option to save the throws for the first game before loading the second one.
Loading a game will overwrite all player and throw data for the current game and replace it with data from the selected saved game. Game type and number of players will be set according to the saved file.
Any number of games can be saved; each game must be given a unique name (otherwise the other game with the same name will be replaced).
On the Load Game screen, saved game files can be deleted. There is currently no option to rename a saved game.
- Saving a game
If you play a new (not loaded) game, you will get the default option to define a unique name for the game. If you have other saved games, you can also chose to replace any of those games with the current game.
If you play a loaded game you will automatically get the option to update that saved game file when you chose to save. If you want to, you can select to enter a new name and save it. If you have other saved games, you can also chose to replace any of those games with the current game. In both the latter cases, the originally loaded game file will stay untouched.
- Loading a game
Select a game in the list of saved games, and game data (players and protocol state) will replace the information in the current game.
Saved games are stored in the default app folder in Android (Android/Data/se.trevligaspel.yatzyprotocol2/files) and have the extension ".ypbackup".
To move saved games from one device to another, simply copy all ".ypbackup" files to the same folder on the new device. Files with that extension will automatically be displayed when you load a game in the app.
To copy the complete state (including statistics and settings) to the new device, you should also include the files "yatzystatistics.dat" and "yatzysettings.dat". Copy the files to the new device while the app is not running, since it will otherwise overwrite the settings file.
Please note that since the files are stored in the default app folder on Android, they will be deleted if the app is removed. Ordinary app updates will not affect these files.